My crazy family

With the holidays over and a new baby on the way, I feel lately like “crazy” has really been taken to a whole new level in my family. And when I mean my family, I’m talking my immediate family and DH’s family.

From November-January, we had visitors (of the family sort) coming and going, and had to deal with all sorts of drama from intense political discussions, to personal sob stories to simply insane-you-wouldn’t-believe-it-but-that’s-my-family sort of stuff.

And now that the holidays are over, it’s baby advice. You know, the silly, old wives tale type of advice that make you wonder if your relatives aren’t from some kind of alien race. Keep in mind, of course, that I’ve been through one pregnancy and am pretty certain I can care for myself during this second round. In addition to baby advice, there’s planning our summer calendar so that people can visit and help take care of the new addition and his older sister. Don’t get me wrong, I know I will appreciate all the help I can get. Initially. But at some point, if I know me, I’m going to want my house to myself to spend time with my own family.

And I’ll leave alone all the nonsense that’s happening on DH’s side between his elderly mother, ill older brother and unstable niece. There’s simply too much drama there for any person to deal with.

For all the complaining I do, a conversation with my best gal pal recently reminded me one thing: they may be crazy, but they’re my crazy family. I love them. There isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for them. They drive me mad. At the same time, all the ridiculous stories that come out of both my and my husband’s families provide hours of conversation, evoking tears, joy, fond memories. Even the things that make us sad. I know one day we’ll learn to embrace them as part of who we are and smile or even laugh about it. It’s what helps us grow and be better humans. As I share these stories with my best friend, and console her on her own family’s insane mess, we both laugh and cry together, and imagine sharing these stories with my own children one day.

About thismommysthoughts

A mom who really enjoys being a mom. I love everything about it. Even the moments when I want to pull my hair out and the times I realize I've become just like my own mother.
This entry was posted in inspirational, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

